Menu

Certified Marijuana Doctors

Get Your Florida Medical Marijuana Card - Call Today! (844) 420-PASS (7277)

Florida Medical Marijuana Caregiver Rules

CAREGIVERS.— ("Department" refers to "Florida Department of Health"

(a) The department must register an individual as a caregiver on the medical marijuana use registry and issue a caregiver identification card if an individual designated by a qualified patient meets all of the requirements of this subsection and department rule.
(b) A caregiver must:
1. Not be a qualified physician and not be employed by or have an economic interest in a medical marijuana treatment center or a marijuana testing laboratory.
2. Be 21 years of age or older and a resident of this state.
3. Agree in writing to assist with the qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana.
4. Be registered in the medical marijuana use registry as a caregiver for no more than one qualified patient, except as provided in this paragraph.
5. Successfully complete a caregiver certification course developed and administered by the department or its designee, which must be renewed biennially. The price of the course may not exceed $100.
6. Pass a background screening pursuant to subsection (9), unless the patient is a close relative of the caregiver.
(c) A qualified patient may designate no more than one caregiver to assist with the qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana, unless:
1. The qualified patient is a minor and the designated caregivers are parents or legal guardians of the qualified patient;
2. The qualified patient is an adult who has an intellectual or developmental disability that prevents the patient from being able to protect or care for himself or herself without assistance or supervision and the designated caregivers are the parents or legal guardians of the qualified patient; or
3. The qualified patient is admitted to a hospice program.
(d) A caregiver may be registered in the medical marijuana use registry as a designated caregiver for no more than one qualified patient, unless:
1. The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one minor who is a qualified patient;
2. The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one adult who is a qualified patient and who has an intellectual or developmental disability that prevents the patient from being able to protect or care for himself or herself without assistance or supervision; or
3. All qualified patients the caregiver has agreed to assist are admitted to a hospice program and have requested the assistance of that caregiver with the medical use of marijuana; the caregiver is an employee of the hospice; and the caregiver provides personal care or other services directly to clients of the hospice in the scope of that employment.
(e) A caregiver may not receive compensation, other than actual expenses incurred, for any services provided to the qualified patient.
(f) If a qualified patient is younger than 18 years of age, only a caregiver may purchase or administer marijuana for medical use by the qualified patient. The qualified patient may not purchase marijuana.
(g) A caregiver must be in immediate possession of his or her medical marijuana use registry identification card at all times when in possession of marijuana or a marijuana delivery device and must present his or her medical marijuana use registry identification card upon the request of a law enforcement officer.